Three From UCLA Ed & IS Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dean Marcelo Suárez-Orozco, Prof. Johanna Drucker, and Prof. Louis Gomez represent the largest number from UCLA in the AAAS Class of '14.

Updated 11/04/14


Faculty members of UCLA’s Graduate School of Education & Information Studies have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Joining five other UCLA faculty from across campus are Marcelo M. Suárez-Orozco, Dean and Distinguished Professor of Education; Johanna Ruth Drucker, Professor of Information Studies and the Bernard and Martin Breslauer Professor of Bibliography; and Louis M. Gomez, Professor of Education and the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Chair in Digital Media and Learning. They were inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 11, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Dean Marcelo Suárez-Orozco leads UCLA Ed & IS, the genesis of “today’s global UCLA.”

“Education and Information Studies matter now more than they did a century ago,” notes Suárez-Orozco. “It is gratifying beyond words that three UCLA Ed & IS faculty members – the largest number from UCLA in this class, have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. It is reminder of our extraordinary responsibility and unique opportunity to continue charting the future in education in Los Angeles, in California, and well beyond.”

“It is wonderful to be elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences with two great colleagues from UCLA Ed & IS,” says Professor Gomez.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

Louis Gomez is the
Professor Louis Gomez is the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Chair in Digital and Media Learning.

“I am honored by this news and even more so because I am sharing this year’s election with Louis Gomez and Marcelo Suárez-Orozco, colleagues in UCLA Ed & IS,” says Drucker. “I feel privileged to have had the professional opportunities afforded by a long and varied teaching career combined with an active creative practice, and am glad to be a part of the UCLA community where I am able to work with students and colleagues who share my enthusiasm and curiosity in many realms.”

Members of the 2014 class include winners of the Nobel Prize; the Wolf Prize; the Pulitzer Prize; National Medal of the Arts; MacArthur, Guggenheim, and Fulbright Fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar, and Tony Awards. Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading thinkers and doers from each generation, including George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Daniel Webster, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Margaret Mead, and Martin Luther King, Jr. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

“It is a privilege to honor these men and women for their extraordinary individual accomplishments,” said Don Randel, Chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors. “The knowledge and expertise of our members give the Academy a unique capacity – and responsibility – to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing challenges of the day. We look forward to engaging our new members in this work.”

“As we enter the UCLA Centennial, it is a time to reflect on our origins, where we are today, and where we need to be tomorrow,” says Dean Suárez-Orozco. “UCLA, alone among the great public research universities in the world, started with education. The State Normal School – a school to train teachers with its own lab school, is the DNA that gave birth to today’s global UCLA.”

For photos from the Oct. 11 ceremony in Cambridge, click here.


Above: Johanna Drucker is the Bernard and Martin Breslauer Professor of Bibliography in the UCLA Department of Information Studies. Photo by Jennifer Young