Sylvia Hurtado and Teresa McCarty Elected to the National Academy of Education

UCLA Education is represented by 19 active members in the NAEd.

UCLA Professors of Education Teresa McCarty and Sylvia Hurtado have been elected to the National Academy of Education, bringing the number of UCLA Ed faculty who are NAEd members to 19. An induction ceremony for new members will take place during the 2019 NAEd Annual Meeting Dinner in November.

“Our Departments are home to extraordinary scholars working at the highest level of excellence and influence,” says Marcelo Suárez-Orozco, Wassserman Dean of the UCLA Graduate School of Education & Information Studies. “The entire GSE&IS community joins me in congratulating Professor Sylvia Hurtado and Professor Teresa McCarty on their election to the National Academy of Education – the world’s most august academy in their respective fields of scholarship. We are indeed gratified that this year again UCLA and Harvard lead the roster of new members elected to the Academy.”

Teresa McCarty is the Kneller Chair in Education and Anthropology. She is currently leading a national study of Indigenous-language immersion schooling funded by the Spencer Foundation. Courtesy of Arizona State University

“It is a profound honor to join such an esteemed group of scholars, including many from our own UCLA community, in an organization dedicated to using research to improve education policy and practice,” says Professor McCarty. “I especially look forward to NAE’s mentorship activities, and to furthering reciprocal research partnerships with Indigenous and other underrepresented communities.”

Professor McCarty is the Alice Wiley Snell Professor Emerita of Education Policy Studies, and former co-director of the Center for Indian Education at Arizona State University. From 1989 to 2004, she served as professor of Language Reading and Culture, department and interim dean within the College of Education, and co-director of the American Indian Language Development Institute, all at the University of Arizona. She is a Kellogg Foundation National Fellow and a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association, the Society for Applied Anthropology, and the International Centre for Language Revitalization.

Professor Sylvia Hurtado is the former director of the Higher Education Research Institute (HERI) at UCLA.

Professor Hurtado is the former director of the Higher Education Research Institute (HERI) at UCLA and teaches in the division of Higher Education & Organizational Change (HEOC), is an authority on campus climate and diversity within higher education. Her research interests include advancing higher education for underrepresented groups, organizational change, and training a diverse scientific workforce.

Prior to arriving at UCLA in 2004, Professor Hurtado served as director and department chair of the Center for the Study of Higher and Postsecondary Education at the University of Michigan. She also served on the Academic Senate’s Board of Admissions and Relations with Schools for the University of California system for six years, chairing changes on admissions review and eligibility to attend California’s public four-year colleges and universities.

The NAEd advances high quality education research and its use in policy and practice. The Academy consists of U.S. members and foreign associates who are elected on the basis of outstanding scholarship related to education. Nominations are submitted by individual Academy members once a year for review and election by the organization’s membership. In addition to serving on expert study panels that address pressing issues in education, members are also deeply engaged in NAEd’s professional development programs.

The following represent UCLA Ed & IS in the National Academy of Education. Professor Bernard Weiner of the UCLA Psychology Department, is also a member.

Walter Allen

Alexander Astin

Eva Baker

Frederick Erickson

Megan Franke

Patricia Gándara

Louis Gomez

Sandra Graham

Joan Herman

Sylvia Hurtado

Teresa McCarty

Pedro Noguera

Jeannie Oakes

Gary Orfield

Mike Rose

James Stigler

Carola Suárez-Orozco

Marcelo Suárez-Orozco

Noreen Webb